U2 New Album News and Rumors

The latest news and info available to us about the upcoming U2 new album(s) due to be released later this year. There are rumors that a double album could be in the works, but again nothing confirmed. Here is what is known as of now. A second album called Songs of Experience is expected very soon.

U2 Album name: Songs of Innocence

U2 new albumProducer(s): Danger Mouse, Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder and Declan Gaffney

Main producer early on has been Danger Mouse (Brian Burton). As of March 2014 U2 had also tapped Paul Epworth and Ryan Tedder to do additional studio work. In early May Ryan Tedder told a Denver paper that he had completed studio work with U2.

Songs of Innocence Track listing:

“The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)” Danger Mouse, Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder 4:16
“Every Breaking Wave” Danger Mouse, Tedder, Declan Gaffney 4:13
“California (There Is No End to Love)” Gaffney, Epworth, Danger Mouse 4:00
“Song for Someone” Tedder, Flood 3:47
“Iris (Hold Me Close)” Epworth, Tedder, Danger Mouse 5:20
“Volcano” Gaffney, Epworth 3:15
“Raised by Wolves” Gaffney, Danger Mouse 4:06
“Cedarwood Road” Danger Mouse, Epworth 4:26
“Sleep Like a Baby Tonight” Danger Mouse 5:02
“This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now” Danger Mouse 5:06
“The Troubles” Danger Mouse, Gaffney 4:46
Total length: 48:11

U2 Album release date: October 13th 2014 (physical release) September 9th free on iTunes

Formats: Deluxe, 2 CD Format2 LP White Vinyl FormatSingle CD Format.

Deluxe, 2 CD Format which comes with 2 x 16 page booklets, the 11 track album on CD1 plus additional tracks on CD2 including a 6-song acoustic session along with Lucifer’s Hands, The Crystal Ballroom, The Troubles (Alternative Version) and Sleep Like A Baby Tonight (Alternative Perspective Mix by Tchad Blake).

2 LP White Vinyl Format featuring the 11 track album on sides 1, 2 & 3 with bonus track The Crystal Ballroom 12″ Mix on side 4.

Single CD Format with a 24-page booklet along with the 11 track album.

U2 Album name: Songs of Experience

U2 new albumProducer(s): Danger Mouse, Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder and Declan Gaffney ?

We could assume that the same group of producers are also producing the next album SOE.

Songs of Experience Track listing:



U2 Album release date: Soon?

According to Adam Clayton, the next album Songs of Experience is 70% complete and went on to state ” ‘Songs of Experience’, should be ”relatively easy” to finish.

Formats: N/A


Misc album tour news/rumors:

New rumor on touring is that U2 are working on a Corke Park return but it’s rumored for 2016!? via Goss.ie.

Adam has stated in a recent interview that U2 are looking at a May 2015 launch of a new tour.

UPDATE Aug 30th: According to The Sunday Times, the Dublin city counsol confirmed that last Sunday’s closing of the Samuel Beckett bridge was for a U2 video shoot. Last Sunday’s closing of the bridge was to enable filming on a “U2 project” but members of the rock group were not present. After a weeks worth of speculation I guess we have a semi-official confirmation that what many thought was a U2 related production was a U2 production. Our guess is that the firework event on the Lough Sheelin was also a U2 related filming.

We will update this page whenever new details surface. You can help us add new U2 album details to this page by contacting us.

Leave a Reply